

THE MARYLAND GENERAL ASSEMBLY Annapolis, Maryland 21401

December 2, 2019

Board of Public Works Louis L. Goldstein Treasury Building Calvert St. Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Governor Hogan, Comptroller Franchot, and Treasurer Kopp:

We write regarding Item 6-GM on the agenda for the Board of Public Works' (BPW) December 4, 2019 meeting involving the I-495 and I-270 P3 Program. We ask that the BPW reject this item until it has adequate time to appropriately review the proposal and Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) provides sufficient information for the BPW, stakeholders, and the public to understand it.

MDOT is well aware of the controversial nature of the project and the wide array of concerns that have been expressed, including particular concerns relevant to the BPW such as the structure and cost of the procurement. MDOT's public meetings have been packed with skeptical citizens; the June 5, 2019 BPW meeting had a long line of questioning Maryland citizens; participating regional agencies such as the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission have been denied access to crucial information; numerous pieces of legislation were introduced and budget language passed advising that votes on this project should require a 3-0 vote of the Board of Public Works; and the available public polling shows an almost evenly divided citizenry on the overall project and majority opposition to its component parts. Yet despite all of those questions and concerns, MDOT chose to release Item 6-GM on the Friday before Thanksgiving and seeks its approval the Wednesday after.

The BPW should decline to approve this item on December 4th and, instead, give yourselves and the public sufficient time to understand what MDOT is now proposing. Time and again, MDOT has backtracked on its promises in regards to this project including whether any homes or property would be taken; whether a locally presented alternative would be fully analyzed, whether the Corridor Cities Transitway would be supported as a transit component; the overall cost; whether any taxpayer dollars would be used; and so on. A multi-billion dollar, multi-decade Public Private Partnership requires more than a few days of review over a holiday week.

Please exercise your roles as stewards of taxpayer dollars to rigorously scrutinize the changes MDOT has proposed and their impact on this project and the state of Maryland.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Delegate Gabe Acevero, District 39

Delegate Dalya Attar, District 41

Delegate Vanessa Atterbeary, District 13

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47

Delegate Heather Bagnall, District 33

Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21

Delegate Erek Barron, District 24

Delegate Sandy Bartlett, District 32

Chair Kumar Barve, House Environment & Transportation Committee, District 17

Chair Joanne Benson, Senate Rules Committee, District 24

Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43

Delegate Tony Bridges, District 41

Delegate Alice Cain, District 30B

Delegate Al Carr, District 18

Delegate Mark Chang, District 32

Delegate Lorig Charkoudian, District 20

Chair Luke Clippinger, House Judiciary Committee, District 46

Delegate Brian Crosby, District 29B

Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19

Delegate Bonnie Cullison, District 19

Delegate Debra Davis, District 28

Delegate Kathleen Dumais, District 15

Delegate Eric Ebersole, District 12

Senator Sarah Elfreth, District 30

Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28

Delegate Jessica Feldmark, District 12

Delegate Diana Fennell, District 47A

Delegate Wanika Fisher, District 47B

Delegate Catherine Forbes, District 42A

Chair Anne Healey, House Rules & Executive Nominations Committee District 22

Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30B

Delegate Shelly Hettleman, District 11

Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A

Delegate Michael Jackson, District 27B

Delegate Jay Jalisi, District 10

Delegate Steve Johnson, District 34A

Chair Anne Kaiser, House Ways & Means Committee, District 14

Senator Cheryl Kagan, District 17

Delegate Ariana Kelly, District 16

Delegate Ken Kerr, District 3B

Delegate Marc Korman, District 16

Senator Ben Kramer, District 19

Senator Clarence Lam, District 12

Senator Susan Lee, District 16

Delegate Mary Lehman, District 21

Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46

Delegate Karen Lewis Young, District 3A

Delegate Brooke Lierman, District 46

Delegate Mary Ann Lisanti, District 34A

Delegate Sara Love, District 16

Delegate Eric Luedtke, District 14

Senator Cory McCray, District 45

Chair Maggie McIntosh, House Appropriations Committee, District 43

Delegate David Moon, District 20

Delegate Nick Mosby, District 40

Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr, District 17

Delegate Edith Patterson, District 28

Senator Obie Patterson, District 26

Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, District 21

Chair Shane Pendergrass, House Health & Government Operations Committee, District 13

Chair Paul Pinsky, Senate Education, Health, & Environmental Affairs Committee, District 22

Delegate Susie Proctor, District 27A

Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14

Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39

Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32

Senator Jim Rosapepe, District 21

Delegate Emily Shetty, District 18

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Senator Will Smith, District 20

Delegate Jared Solomon, District 18

Delegate Dana Stein, District 11

Delegate Vaughn Stewart, District 19

Delegate Charles Sydnor, District 44B

Delegate Jen Terrasa, District 13

Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26

Delegate Kris Valderrama, District 26

Delegate Geraldine Valentino Smith, District 23A

Senator Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18

Delegate Alonzo Washington, District 22

Delegate Courtney Watson, District 9B

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

Delegate-Elect Nicole Williams, District 22

Delegate Pat Young, District 44B

Senator Ronald Young, District 3