

THE MARYLAND GENERAL ASSEMBLY Annapolis, Maryland 21401

July 20, 2021

The Honorable Charles Allen, Chair National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board Metropolitan Council of Governments 777 North Capitol Street NE, Suite 300 Washington, DC 20002

Dear Chair Allen and Members of the Transportation Planning Board:

We write to urge the Transportation Planning Board (TPB) to stand by its vote to remove the I-495/I-270 P3 project from the region's long-range transportation plan. This specific project does not enjoy a regional consensus, is strongly opposed by the local governments that the project would most impact, and fails to move the region forward on environmental justice.

Since the proposal to add private toll lanes was announced, affected local jurisdictions have sought alternative measures to address congestion. But their recommendations have been dismissed, and the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) failed to study more sustainable and less destructive alternatives in its Draft Environmental Impact Statement. In a June 25 letter to MDOT and the Federal Highway Administration, the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC) reiterated its concerns, including the absence of a meaningful transit component and inadequate consideration of environmental justice concerns. Additionally, M–NCPPC has been critical of the design as it would increase traffic on local roads.

The vote to remove the project from the transportation plan is also consistent with the Biden administration's emphasis on addressing climate change and environmental justice. Transit is a necessary component of climate-friendly congestion relief. But, investment in transit also ensures that our transportation system serves a broader range of needs in a more equitable way. According to the Pew Charitable Trust, lower–income, Black, and Hispanic communities are more likely to use public transportation regularly. A significant investment in transportation along the I-495/I-270 corridor must serve the needs of these communities as well.

Finally, the pandemic has changed attitudes towards telework. The federal government is poised to expand telework opportunities for its workforce, and the Maryland General Assembly recently passed legislation to encourage telework by the private sector and State and local governments.

The project should not proceed until we understand the impact of telework on future travel patterns.

Beidle

Through its vote to remove this project, the TPB took an important step to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and achieve climate change goals in the region's transportation sector. We urge the members of the TPB to stand by these commitments and to vote to confirm the decision to remove the I-495/I-270 project from the long-range transportation plan.

Sincerely,

Senator

Delegate

Denator	I dillord	Delaie
Senator	Jill P.	Carter
Senator	Sarah	Elfreth
Senator	Shelly	Hettleman
Senator	Michael	Jackson
Senator	Cheryl	Kagan
Senator	Delores	Kelley
Senator	Ben	Kramer
Senator	Susan	Lee
Senator	Paul	Pinsky
Senator	Jim	Rosapepe
Senator	Will	Smith
Senator	Charles	Sydnor
Senator	Jeff	Waldstreicher
Senator	Mary	Washington
Senator	Ron	Young
Delegate	Gabriel	Acevero
Delegate	Vanessa	Atterbeary
Delegate	Heather	Bagnall
Delegate	Daryl	Barnes
Delegate	Ben	Barnes
Delegate	Sandy	Bartlett
Delegate	Kumar	Barve
Delegate	Lisa	Belcastro
Delegate	Regina T.	Boyce
Delegate	Tony	Bridges
Delegate	Benjamin	Brooks
Delegate	Jon	Cardin
Delegate	Al	Carr
Delegate	Mark	Chang
Delegate	Lorig	Charkoudian
Delegate	Nick	Charles
Delegate	Charlotte	Crutchfield
Delegate	Bonnie	Cullison
D 1 .	D 1	ъ.

Debra

Davis

Pamela

Delegate Eric Ebersole Delegate Jessica Feldmark Delegate Diana Fennell Delegate Wanika Fisher Delegate Cathi **Forbes** Delegate Anne Healey Delegate Shaneka Henson Delegate Julian Ivey Delegate Steve Johnson Delegate Rachel Jones Ariana Kelly Delegate Kenneth Kerr Delegate Delegate Lehman Mary Delegate Jazz Lewis Delegate Robbyn Lewis

Delegate Karen Lewis Young Delegate Brooke Lierman Delegate Sara Love Luedtke Delegate Eric Delegate Maggie McIntosh David Delegate Moon

Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk Shane Pendergrass Delegate Delegate Susie **Proctor** Delegate Kirill Reznik Delegate Mike Rogers Delegate Sheila Ruth Delegate **Emily** Shetty Stephanie Smith Delegate Delegate Jared Solomon Delegate Dana Stein Delegate Vaughn Stewart Delegate Jen Terrasa Delegate Veronica Turner

Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith Washington Delegate Alonzo Delegate Courtney Watson Delegate Ron Watson Jheanelle Wilkins Delegate Delegate Nicole Williams Delegate Pat Young